MAUI HIGH SCHOOL FOUNDATION Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors Maui High School Room J101 660 S. Lono Avenue, Kahului, Maui, Hawaii 96732 August 4, 2015

PRESENT: Leilani Abafo, Bruce Anderson, Lloyd Inouye, Glenda Joyo, Brian Moto, Calvin Nemoto, Julie Tima, Paul Ueoka and Stacy Woodson.

- I. CALL TO ORDER Upon the establishment of a quorum, President C. Nemoto called the meeting to order at 3:30PM.
- II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES A motion was duly made by L. Inouye and duly seconded by J.Tima to approve the minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors held on May 5, 2015 circulated by S. Woodson, subject to the correction of a typo made in section IV, sub-section 1. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

A motion was duly made by L. Inouye and duly seconded by J.Tima to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors held on June 2, 2015 as circulated by S. Woodson. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

- III. TREASURER'S REPORT None.
- IV. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS
 - A. BUDGET & FINANCE. No report.
 - B. POLICIES & PROCEDURES
 - Mail, Deposits, and Disbursements Protocols B. Moto circulated notes from "Notes from Meeting of Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - Mail, Deposits, and Disbursements Protocols", responsive action to DOE Standard Practice #1516. Discussion followed.
 - a. Board opted for Brian to draft notes as a policy and submit for approval.
 - b. S. Woodson to double-check By-laws to see if two signatures are required on check disbursements.
 - c. S. Woodson to inquire with office on where they acquired their lock box.
 - C. COMMUNICATION. -No report.
 - D. SCHOLARSHIP Regarding the request to initiate a Maui High School Foundation CTE Scholarship program, L. Abafo presented "Maui High School Foundation CTE Scholarships: Option 1 & Option 2" from CTE Faculty. There was further discussion on the matter.
 - 1. Board requested CTE faculty to provide fundraising language/communication in their proposal of the MHSF CTE Scholarship program so donors know & understand what they are giving to.
 - 2. Board preferred OPTION 1 outline of proposal on selecting CTE scholarship recipients: Each of the 6 Pathways shall nominate up to 5 students. MHS Foundation (through scholarship committee) shall determine scholarship recipient, one recipient per Pathway. A total of 6 CTE scholarships shall be awarded annually.

- 3. P. Ueoka noted that it might not be appropriate to refer to this award as a "scholarship" as it does not focus on academic excellence. Perhaps "grant", "aid" or something similar would be more appropriate, or the term "Merit" scholarship is commonly used for scholarships that are related to academic performance but also based on strength in a particular area of study.
- 4. In terms of total dollar amount given in scholarship awards each year, B. Moto noted that it is important to focus on the overall need and goal. Currently the need appears to be approximately \$15,000 in scholarship funds annually that can be spread out among Academic, AVID, CTE, or other program-based scholarships through the Foundation's Scholarship Committee.

V. SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. 2015 HALL OF HONOR BANQUET

- 1. Chair L. Inouye reported 3 Nominees have accepted, 1 nominee yet to be contacted.
- 2. L. Abafo shall look into photos from 2014 HOH event and forward to the Foundation to post on website and share with inquiring alumni.
- 3. It was decided not to initiate program booklets this year. Therefore S. Woodson will finalize and forward Sponsorship/Ticket Sales Form and Donation request letter to L. Inouye.
- 4. L.Inouye will initiate "Square Up" app for credit card payments for silent auction payments.
- 5. Once honoree photos are received S. Woodson can update and circulate the 2015 HOH Event Flyer/Poster.
- B. HALL OF HONOR DISPLAY. No report.

VI. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Tom and Dorothy Tagawa donation to MHSF – No new information.

VI. NEW BUSINESS- None.

VII. OTHER BUSINESS

A. Next meeting- Set for Tuesday, September 1, 2015 at 3:30pm in Room J-101.

VIII. ADJOURNMENT - There being no further business, President C. Nemoto adjourned the meeting at 4:26pm.

Respectfully submitted: Stacy Woodson, Secretary