#### MAUI HIGH SCHOOL FOUNDATION Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Maui High School Conference Room 660 S. Lono Avenue, Kahului, Maui, Hawaii 96732 May 5, 2015

**PRESENT**: Leilani Abafo, Bruce Anderson, Lloyd Inouye, Glenda Joyo, Brian Moto, Calvin Nemoto, Julie Tima, Paul Ueoka and Stacy Woodson. Also present were Tad Iwata and Clint Gima.

- I. CALL TO ORDER Upon the establishment of a quorum, President C. Nemoto called the meeting to order at 3:04PM.
- **II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES** A motion was duly made by P. Ueoka and duly seconded by L. Inouye to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors held on March 10, 2015 as circulated. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.
- **III. TREASURER'S REPORT** Deferred.

### IV. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE. – Mr. Clint Gima, Maui High School's Career & Technical Education (CTE) Program Coordinator, spoke in support of initiating a CTE Scholarship program under the Foundation's scholarship program. This would be similar to the Foundation's AVID Scholarship program. According to Mr. Gima, Maui High has a strong CTE program, among strongest in state, with all 6 Hawaii DOE recognized Pathways offered to students. 95% of student boy are in a CTE class. Freshmen enter into a minimum of 1 Pathway in their first year. CTE courses help keep kids interested in school as they are subjects of interest to the student.

L. Abafo will work with the Scholarship Committee and CTE faculty members to develop the concept further. They will work on a draft proposal to present to the Board.

- B. **BUDGET & FINANCE.-** No report.
- C. POLICIES & PROCEDURES. No report.
- D. **COMMUNICATION** First newsletter has been sent to print. Estimated to hit mailboxes by mid May.

### V. SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. **2015 HALL OF HONOR BANQUET** Chair L. Inouye reported the HOH Committee will extend the nomination deadline to May 30<sup>th</sup>.
- B. **HALL OF HONOR DISPLAY**. Board requested the HOH display be completed by October 2015.

### VI. UNFINISHED BUSINESS-

A. Tom and Dorothy Tagawa donation to MHSF – No new information.

### VII. NEW BUSINESS

A. SP 1516. Non-Appropriated Student Activity Fund - Needs interpretation.

# B. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

- i. **Expired Terms-** Of the eleven directors currently serving the MHS Foundation, the terms of Leilani Abafo, Leizl Tabon, and Stacy Woodson have expired. The Board may have up to 15 members.
- ii. Nominations- C. Nemoto nominated Leilani Abafo, Leizl Tabon, and Stacy Woodson for a renewed term and Michael Molina for a new term. Nominations were closed. With no other nominees Leilani Abafo, Leizl Tabon, and Stacy Woodson shall renew their terms (pending acceptance) and Michael Molina will be a newly appointed Director.

## C. Directors of the Foundation for the 2014-15 year:

- i. Continuing term to expire in 2016
  - 1. Alfredo Evangelista
  - 2. Calvin Nemoto
  - 3. Paul Ueoka
- ii. Continuing term to expire in 2017:
  - 1. Lloyd Inouye
  - 2. Brian Moto
- iii. Newly elected term to expire in 2018:
  - 1. Leilani Abafo
  - 2. Leizl Tabon
  - 3. Stacy Woodson
  - 4. Michael Molina
- iv. Appointed directors by virtue of their positions:
  - 1. Bruce Anderson (MHS Principal)
  - 2. Glenda Joyo (MHS Student Activities Coordinator)
  - 3. Julie Tima (MHS PTSA President)
- D. **ELECTION OF OFFICERS -** A motion was duly made P. Ueoka and duly seconded by L. Abafo to adopt the slate of former officers pending acceptance from officers not present. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

**Officers for the MHS Foundation are as follows:**President Calvin Nemoto, Vice President Paul Ueoka, Treasurer Leizl Tabon (pending acceptance), Assistant Treasurer Brian Moto, Secretary Stacy Woodson, Assistant Secretary Alfredo Evangelista(pending acceptance).

- E. **SIGNATORIES -** There was no change in signatories. The **authorized signers** for the Foundation accounts are Calvin Nemoto, Alfredo Evangelista, and Brian Moto.
- F. **Regular Meetings** Regular meetings shall be held on the 1<sup>st</sup> Tuesday of each month beginning at 3:30pm in the Principal's Conference Room unless otherwise communicated by the Secretary. The next meeting will be held on August 4, 2015.
- G. **Adjournment-** There being no further business, President C. Nemoto adjourned the meeting at 4:22pm.

Respectfully submitted: Stacy Woodson, Secretary