MAUI HIGH SCHOOL FOUNDATION

Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors Maui High School Conference Room 660 S. Lono Avenue, Kahului, Maui, Hawaii 96732 May 3, 2016

PRESENT: Leilani Abafo, Lloyd Inouye, Glenda Joyo, Michael Molina, Brian Moto, Calvin Nemoto, Paul Ueoka and Stacy Woodson. Also present was HOH Chair Erin Clapper.

- I. CALL TO ORDER Upon the establishment of a quorum, President C. Nemoto called the meeting to order at 3:31PM.
- II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES A motion was duly made by P. Ueoka and duly seconded by L. Inouye to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors held on February 23, 2016 as circulated by S. Woodson. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.
- III. TREASURER'S REPORT A motion was duly made by S. Woodson and duly seconded by M. Molina to approve the Treasurer's Report for the three months ended April 30, 2016, the Revised Treasurer's Report for the month ended January 31, 2016, and the 2015 Hall of Honor Banquet Schedule of Revenues and Expenses as circulated by L. Tabon. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

IV. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. **BUDGET & FINANCE.-** No report.
- B. **POLICIES & PROCEDURES.** C. Nemoto inquired on setting up endowments on behalf of a donor. B. Moto advised that endowments should be considered only when there is a substantial amount of money on the table. C. Nemoto will inform the inquirer.
- C. **SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE** G. Joyo reported on behalf of committee that of the 6 CTE scholarships, the Natural Resources Scholarship did not have any applicants and therefore will not be awarded this year.
 - S. Woodson reported that a donation of \$2000 was made to the Scholarship program to provide a 2016 "Saber Pride" scholarship (2) one-time scholarships of \$1000 to be presented to a male and female graduate of the class of 2016 who meet certain criteria suggested by the donor. Scholarship chair Tad Iwata and MHS Staff members assisted in selection of the awardees based on set criteria.

2016 Foundation Scholars are as follows:

MHS Foundation General Scholarship: (3) Jacy Sera, Jan Erwin Bio, Zoe Whitney

AVID: (1) Angelica Crisologo

CTE: (5) Eldaine Gajonera, Sheena Castillo, Christian Fillazar, Zeatrix Calma, Alssie Casayuran

Class of 1966 Saber Pride Scholarship: (2) Jacy Sera and Buster Barrett

Nemoto will present awards on at Maui High's Senior Awards Night on May 17th.

D. **COMMUNICATION**- S. Woodson reported that Issue 3 of Newsletter is targeted for June.

V. SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. 2016 HALL OF HONOR BANQUET- E. Clapper reported that she is in process of confirming acceptance with selected honorees. A press release will be sent out once all honorees have accepted.
- B. **HALL OF HONOR DISPLAY**. L. Abafo reported that Athletic Director M. Ban is working on another project involving gym. After that project is completed efforts will be initiated on HOH Display in the gym entrance.
- C. CHARITY WALK FUNDRAISER. L. Abafo reported that collection of donations for the charity walk is in progress. Approximately \$5000 has been collected. 2 of the 6 MHS Pathways did not participate this year in collecting donations. 100% of donations collected will be given back to the participating pathways. Any additional donations received from VICW sponsors will remain with the Foundation and be allocated toward CTE scholarship funding.

VI. UNFINISHED BUSINESS-

A. None.

VII. NEW BUSINESS

A. **HOSA Funds request** - S. Woosdon circulated (via email) a letter from MHS HOSA requesting a donation to their program to support national competition travel expense in June. Anticipated total expense is \$38,000 for 18 participating students traveling to Nashville, Tennessee. A motion was duly made by P. Ueoka and duly seconded by L. Inouye to award \$1500.00 to the HOSA program to help offset upcoming competition travel costs. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

B. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

- Expired Terms- Of the twelve directors currently serving the MHS Foundation, the terms of Calvin Nemoto, Paul Ueoka, and Alfredo Evangelista have expired. The Board may have up to 15 members.
- ii. Nominations- A motion was duly made by M. Molina and duly seconded by B.Moto to nominate Calvin Nemoto, Paul Ueoka, and Alfredo Evangelista as directors with renewed terms. Nominations were closed. With no other nominees Calvin Nemoto, Paul Ueoka, and Alfredo Evangelista shall renew their terms (pending acceptance).

C. DIRECTORS OF THE FOUNDATION FOR THE 2016-17 YEAR:

- i. Continuing term to expire in 2017
 - 1. Lloyd Inouye
 - 2. Brian Moto
- ii. Continuing term to expire in 2018:
 - 1. Leilani Abafo
 - 2. Leizl Tabon
 - 3. Stacy Woodson
 - 4. Michael Molina
- iii. Renewed term to expire in 2019:
 - 1. Calvin Nemoto

- 2. Paul Ueoka
- 3. Alfredo Evangelista (pending acceptance)
- iv. Appointed directors by virtue of their positions:
 - 1. Bruce Anderson (MHS Principal)
 - 2. Glenda Joyo (MHS Student Activities Coordinator)
 - 3. Julie Tima (MHS PTSA President)

D. ELECTION OF OFFICERS -

- President No nominations were made. A President is to be elected by the Board or appointed by MHS Principal within 30 days.
- ii. Other officers A motion was duly made M. Molia and duly seconded by P. Ueoka to adopt the slate of former officers for V. President, Treasurer, Asst. Treasurer, Secretary, and Asst. Secretary pending acceptance from officer(s) not present. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

Officers for the MHS Foundation are as follows: President - none, Vice President Paul Ueoka, Treasurer Leizl Tabon, Assistant Treasurer Brian Moto, Secretary Stacy Woodson, Assistant Secretary Alfredo Evangelista (pending acceptance).

- E. **SIGNATORIES** There was no change in signatories. The **authorized signers** for the Foundation accounts are Calvin Nemoto, Alfredo Evangelista (pending acceptance of renewed term of directorship), and Brian Moto.
- VIII. OTHER BUSINESS- The next regular meeting of the Board is set for Tuesday June 7, 2016 at 3:30pm in Room J-101.
- **IX. ADJOURNMENT** There being no further business, President C. Nemoto adjourned the meeting at 4:38pm.

Respectfully submitted: Stacy Woodson, Secretary