# MAUI HIGH SCHOOL FOUNDATION

# Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors MHS Conference Room

# 660 S. Lono Avenue, Kahului, Maui, Hawaii 96732 May 28 , 2014 3:00pm

**Minutes** 

PRESENT: Leilani Abafo, Bruce Anderson, Alfredo Evangelista, Glenda Joyo, Brian Moto,

Calvin Nemoto, Leizl Tabon, Paul Ueoka, Stacy Woodson

**EXCUSED:** Maria Keau, Shan Tsutsui

### I. CALL TO ORDER

Upon the establishment of a quorum President C. Nemoto called the meeting to order at 3:04PM.

# II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was duly made by L. Abafo and duly seconded by B. Moto to approve the minutes of the April 30, 2014 Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

## III. TREASURER'S REPORT

Treasurer L. Tabon circulated a report for the month ended April 30, 2014 showing an ending cash balance in Savings of \$22,840.26 and in Checking of \$14,630.02; yielding a total months end cash balance of \$37,470.28. Unrestricted funds stand at \$32,470.28 and temporarily restricted funds stand at \$5,000.

A motion was duly made by P. Ueoka and duly seconded by B. Moto to approve the treasurer's report for the month ended April 30, 2014. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

### IV. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

### A. SCHOLARSHIP – Tad Iwata

The four (4) recipients for the MHSF 2014 AVID Scholarships are Katherine Allen, Jill Blanca, Thalia Castaneda, and Jessica Pasalo. All recipients have received their certificate and scholarship check of \$1,000.00.

- B. BUDGET & FINANCE- Leizl Tabon- None
- C. POLICIES & PROCEDURES- Brian Moto-None
- D. STRATEGIC PLANNING- None.
- E. COMMUNICATION- Stacy Woodson/Leilani Abafo-None.

### V. SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. 2014 GOLF TOURNAMENT – Michael Ban/Leilani Abafo

Tentative date of Saturday, October 18, 2014. Location, co-chair, and committee are to be determined.

- B. 2014 HALL OF HONOR BANQUET- Lloyd Inouye/Bobbie Arita None.
- C. COOKBOOK- Leilani Abafo/Glenda Joyo- None.
- D. HALL OF HONOR DISPLAY Marilyn Morikawa- None.

# VI. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. Paul Ueoka's donation to MHS Graphics- L. Abafo inquired on a donation received in October 2013 from Paul Ueoka designated toward MHS Graphics. Leizl and Stacy will follow up on correspondence and carry out disbursement of funds.

#### VII. **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

- A. Expired Terms- Of the eleven directors currently serving the MHS Foundation, the terms of Brian Moto and Shan Tsutsui have expired. The Board may have up to 15 members.
- B. Nominations- C. Nemoto nominated Brian Moto for a new term. S. Woodson. nominated Lloyd Inouye. Nominations were closed. With no other nominees B. Moto and L. Inouve shall fill the two vacant spots from expired terms.

# C. Directors of the Foundation for the 2014-15 year:

Continuing term to expire in 2015:

Leilani Abafo

Leizl Tabon

Stacy Woodson

Continuing term to expire in 2016:

Alfredo Evangelista

Calvin Nemoto

Paul Ueoka

Newly elected term to expire in 2017:

Lloyd Inouve

Brian Moto

Appointed directors by virtue of their positions:

Bruce Anderson (MHS Principal)

Glenda Joyo (MHS Student Activities Coordinator)

Maria Keau (MHS PTSA President)

#### VIII. **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

A motion was duly made P. Ueoka and duly seconded by L. Abafo to adopt the slate of former officers with the exception that Brian Moto shall serve as the Assistant Treasurer. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

### Officers for the MHS Foundation are as follows:

President Calvin Nemoto, Vice President Paul Ueoka, Treasurer Leizl Tabon, Assistant Treasurer Brian Moto, Secretary Stacy Woodson, Assistant Secretary Alfredo Evangelista.

#### IX. **SIGNATORIES**

A motion was duly made by A. Evangelista and duly seconded by P. Ueoka to designate Brian Moto as a signatory for the Foundation in place of Debra Nakama. Discussion followed. The motion was carried unanimously.

The authorized signers for the Foundation accounts are Calvin Nemoto, Alfredo Evangelista, and Brian Moto (pending).

#### Χ. **OTHER BUSINESS**

The next meeting is set for June 25, 2014.

#### XI. **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 3:55pm.

Respectfully submitted:

Stacy Woodson, Secretary